Today, the Oklahoma House committee on Public health and safety had a hearing on House Bill 1021 (HB1021), introduced by State Representative Mike Ritze. The bill would declare unconstitutional the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, AKA Obamacare – and require the state legislature to “adopt and enact any and all measures as may be necessary to prevent” its enforcement within the State.

After some sharp discussion and debate, the committee passed the bill by a vote of 7-3. HB1021 will now be sent to the Calendar committee which will need to approve the bill before sending it to the full Oklahoma State House for a floor debate and vote. (action items below)

Ritze’s bill — HB 1021 — declares that the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, as well as the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010:

are not authorized by the Constitution of the United States and violate its true meaning and intent as given by the founders and ratifiers, and are hereby declared to be invalid in the State of Oklahoma, shall not be recognized by this state, are specifically rejected by this state, and shall be considered null and void and of no effect in this state.

Mark Kreslins, Executive Director for Oklahoma Liberty, an organization backing HB1021 around the state, was supportive of the committee vote. He said, “Today was a good day for liberty in Oklahoma and a good day for liberty over all. Now the real fight begins to have this bill heard on the house floor. Based on the response from thousands of Oklahomans they want this bill heard.”

Dr. Ritze quoted Thomas Jefferson is support of his legislation:

Thomas Jefferson made it perfectly clear in the Kentucky Resolution of 1799 when he wrote; “That if those who administer the general government be permitted to transgress the limits fixed by that compact, by a total disregard to the special delegations of power therein contained, annihilation of the state governments, and the erection upon their ruins, of a general consolidated government, will be the inevitable consequence.”

The final vote on HB1021 was as follows:

YEAS: 7
Derby
Grau
Hulbert
Ritze
Echols
Hamilton
Mulready

NAYS: 3
Cox
McDaniel (J)
Shelton

ACTION ITEMS for Oklahoma

1. Call every member of the Calendar committee. Let them know that you want them to send HB1021 to the full house for a debate and vote. Strongly, but respectfully make sure they know that a YES vote on HB1021 is the only vote you’ll find acceptable.

Rep. Pam Peterson, R-Tulsa, chairman – (405) 557-7341 pampeterson@okhouse.gov
Rep. Don Armes, R-Faxon – (405) 557-7307 donarmes@okhouse.gov
Rep. Josh Cockroft, R-Tecumseh – (405) 557-7349 josh.cockroft@okhouse.gov
Rep. Marian Cooksey, R-Edmond – (405) 557-7342 mariancooksey@okhouse.gov
Rep. Elise Hall, R-Oklahoma City – (405) 557-7403 elise.hall@okhouse.gov
Rep. Chuck Hoskin, D-Vinita – (405) 557-7319 chuck.hoskin@okhouse.gov
Rep. Dennis Johnson, R-Duncan – (405) 557-7327 dennis.johnson@okhouse.gov
Rep. Fred Jordan, R-Jenks – (405) 557-7331 fred.jordan@okhouse.gov
Rep. Steve Kouplen, D-Beggs – (405) 557-7306 steve.kouplen@okhouse.gov
Rep. Jeannie McDaniel, D-Tulsa – (405) 557-7334 jeanniemcdaniel@okhouse.gov
Rep. Skye McNiel, R-Bristow – (405) 557-7353 skye.mcniel@okhouse.gov
Rep. Jason Murphey, R-Guthrie – (405) 557-7350 jason.murphey@okhouse.gov
Rep. Leslie Osborn, R-Mustang – (405) 557-7333 leslie.osborn@okhouse.gov
Rep. Colby Schwartz, R-Yukon – (405) 557-7352 colby.schwartz@okhouse.gov
Rep. Ben Sherrer, D-Chouteau – (405) 557-7364 bensherrer@okhouse.gov
Rep. Jason Smalley, R-Stroud – (405) 557-7368 jason.smalley@okhouse.gov
Rep. Todd Thomsen, R-Ada – (405) 557-7336 todd.thomsen@okhouse.gov
Rep. Emily Virgin, D-Norman – (405) 557-7323 emily.virgin@okhouse.gov

,strong>2. Contact your State Representative right now. Let him or her know that you want them to vote YES on HB1021. Let them know that you consider it their Constitutional duty to do so as well. Let them know that the Supremacy Clause is clear – only those federal laws made in pursuance of the Constitution are supreme (details here)

Find your legislator’s contact info here:
http://www.oklegislature.gov/FindMyLegislature.aspx

3. Share this information widely. Please pass this along to your friends and family. Also share it with any and all grassroots groups you’re in contact with around the state. Please encourage them to email this information to their members and supporters.

4. Join the Nullify Obamacare group on facebook. Get involved with like-minded people in your state and report back to others on any feedback you get when in contact with your representative.
http://www.facebook.com/groups/nullifyobamacareoklahoma/

LEGISLATION AND TRACKING

If you would like to see model legislation to introduce in your state to nullify state health care exchanges, please see The Tenth Amendment Center’s Model Legislation: Model Legislation: Nullify Obamacare in 4 Steps

Track the status of federal health care nullification legislation in states around the country HERE