Senate bill 13-241, a bill to legalize Industrial Hemp within Colorado borders has passed the state Senate and is moving the house for concurrence.  If passed into law, the bill would nullify the current unconstitutional federal ban on farming and production of hemp within the state. This legislation will return regulation of hemp where it belongs, to the state of Colorado.

The bill passed the Senate late last week by a vote of 34-1.  It has been assigned to the House Agriculture, Livestock and Resources Committee. Your help is needed to move this bill forward and nullify the unconstitutional federal ban on hemp farming and production.

The United States is currently the world’s #1 importer of hemp, which is used in food products, clothing, oil and much more.  The top exporters are China and Canada.  The United States is the only developed nation that fails to cultivate industrial hemp as an economic crop, according to the Congressional Resource Service.  At this time of economic difficulty, 13-241 would not only expand freedom and support the Constitution, it would also be a great jobs bill.

Action Items

1. Contact the Chairman on  the House Agriculture, Livestock and Resources Committee. Thank the Chairman for sponsoring this bill and let him know you’d like to see a hearing and vote on it soon.

Randy Fischer 303-866-2917 randyfischer@frii.com

2. Contact all the other Members of the Committee. Respectfully let each of them know you want a YES vote on SB13-241. Educate them on the fact that hemp is used in a LOT of products in your local grocery store.  So why shouldn’t Colorado farmers earn an income instead of importing from China or Canada?

Ed Virgil 303-866-2916 edvigil1@gmail.com
Perry Buck 303-866-2907 perrybuck49@gmail.com
Don Coram 303-866-2955 don.coram.house@state.co.us
Leroy Garcia 303-866-2968 leroy.garcia.house@state.co.us
Steve Lebsock 303-866-2931 steve.lebsock.house@state.co.us
Mike McLachlan 303-866-2914 mike.mclachlan.house@state.co.us
Frank McNulty 303-866-2936
Diane Bush 303-866-2923 diane.mitschbush.house@state.co.us
Bob Rankin 303-866-2949 bob.rankin.house@state.co.us
Paul Rosenthal 303-866-2910 paul.rosenthal.house@state.co.us
Lori Saine 303-866-2906 lori.saine.house@state.co.us
Jerry Sonnenberg 303-866-3706 jerry@repsonnenberg.com

3.  Share this information widely.  Please pass this along to your friends and family.  Also share it with any and all grassroots groups you’re in contact with around the state.  Please encourage them to email this information to their members and supporters.

ADDITIONAL READING AND RESOURCES

The federal  Controlled Substance Act included hemp as a Schedule I drug in 1970. The feds consider growing it without a DEA issued permit a crime.  The feds have only issued one such permit, to Hawaii, back in 1999. It has since expired.   This has created a de-fact federal ban on growing the plant.  And as a result, the United States is the world’s #1 importer of hemp, while China and Canada are the top 2 exporters.  Some supporters say that nullifying this federal ban would be a huge win for jobs, for American farmers, and for the economy.

SB13-241 seeks to nullify the unconstitutional federal ban on the production hemp. The federal government lacks the constitutional authority to regulate the production of hemp, or any agricultural product, within a state’s borders, and SB13-241 rests on solid ground.

HEMP OVERVIEW AND USE

Industrial hemp is not marijuana, but an industrial agricultural product used for a wide variety of purposes, including the manufacture of cordage of varying tensile strength, durable clothing and nutritional products. During World War II, the United States military relied heavily on hemp products, which resulted in the famous campaign and government-produced film, “Hemp for Victory!

Even though soil, climate and agricultural capabilities could make the United States a massive producer of industrial hemp, today no hemp is grown for public sale, use and consumption within the United States. China is the world’s greatest producer and the United States is the #1 importer of hemp and hemp products in the world.

Since the enactment of the unconstitutional federal controlled-substances act in 1970, the Drug Enforcement Agency has prevented the production of hemp within the United States. Many hemp supporters feel that the DEA has been used as an “attack dog” of sorts to prevent competition with major industries where American-grown hemp products would create serious market competition: Cotton, Paper/Lumber, Oil, and others.

The Many Uses of Hemp

Environmental and Economic Benefits of Hemp